Happy Ostara! Spring Equinox 2020 is here!

Spring Equinox, “Feast of Ostara”, Aries 0 degrees, March 19, 2020 at 8:49 PM PST/9:49 PM MST/10:49 PM CST/11:49 PM EST

 

Happy Ostara! First Day of Spring! This is the time of the year we celebrate the Spring Equinox in the Northern hemisphere. In the Southern hemisphere, our friends and family down-under celebrate Fall Equinox. Spring Equinox is when the Sun moves into Aries at 0 degrees. Stay tuned for my New Moon podcast and blog post coming on March 24th!

Spring is the energy of “Life” and Gaia is waking up from her long winter nap.  Since February 2nd, Imbolc has been laying the energetic ground for Ostara to burst forth with color and fertility. Spring Equinox is the point of perfect balance. On the Wheel of the Year, night and day are of equal length and in perfect equilibrium. The masculine (outer) and feminine (inner) come into balance. The natural world comes alive. The Sun gains in strength and the days become longer and warmer as we head towards Summer Solstice. Hooray!

Who is Ostara?

Imbolc fulfills her promise to welcome in the abundant fertility of Mother Earth. Ostara, or Eostra, is an Anglo-Saxon goddess who represents the dawn. As a spring goddess, she orchestrates the budding plants to bloom and the fertility of the earth to conceive. The Horned God, the god Pan, ignites the festive enjoyment of nature by drinking up juicy, creative sexual energy and dancing to the beat of the Music of the Spheres everywhere. This is the time for the hopes of Imbolc to take action. Can you feel this energy as expansive and ecstatic? It is the first day of Spring! All the gods and goddesses are singing! Ostara also is known as Eostre that the Christian celebration of Easter is named after. Funny how the naming of the hormone Estrogen, essential to women’s fertility, finds its roots in this Goddess energy. Here are traditional ways to celebrate Spring Equinox – thank you wicca.com. Enjoy!

Traditional Foods:
Leafy green vegetables, Dairy foods, Nuts such as Pumpkin, Sunflower, and Pine. Flower Dishes and Sprouts.

Herbs and Flowers:
Daffodil, Jonquils, Woodruff, Violet, Gorse, Olive, Peony, Iris, Narcissus and all spring flowers.

Incense:
Jasmine, Rose, Strawberry, Floral of any type.

Sacred Gemstone:
Jasper

Special Activities:
Planting seeds or starting a Magickal Herb Garden. Taking a long walk in nature with no intent other than reflecting on the Magick of nature and our Great Mother and her bounty.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Us Out On Instagram!

Pin It on Pinterest